Available information

Displaying information for Llandeilo Abercywyn, Carmarthen

Churches and Chapels

St Teilo

Address: Llandilo-Abercowin farm

OS Grid Ref: SN31031307

Baptisms 1813-1888 CMN RO , 1707-1806 NLW Marriages 1819-1864, 1928-1947 CMN RO , 1707-1784 NLW Burials 1813-1895 CMN RO , 1707-1806 NLW Monumental Inscriptions ,
Llandeilo Abercowyn: St Teilo's is a simple thirteenth-century building, though the chancel was extended in the fifteenth century, possibly to meet the needs of an increasing number of worshippers. For the farmhouse adjoining St Teilo's Church is known as "˜Pilgrims' Rest': you are now on the traditional medieval route to St David's. This is one of the sections of the route which earned the pilgrimage its high status. Twice to St David's was the equivalent of once to Rome; three times equalled the Holy Land itself. This is easier to understand when you consider that pilgrims traditionally forded the Cywyn estuary here on foot, to reach the church of Llanfihangel Abercywyn on the far bank. The Cistercian Way

St Michael

Address: Access to ruin via Treventy Farm

OS Grid Ref: SN 20302 20133

No additional information is available


No information available


No information available


No information available

War Memorials

No information available

Become a member today

Becoming a member of Dyfed FHS takes just a few minutes

Join now

Follow Us

Visit our Facebook page for our latest news and links to events and resources of interest.

Useful Links

Other Genealogical Websites

View a page with links to all our other genealogical websites.

All Recent Additions

View a page with links to all our Recent Additions

Personal Research

Society Members can publish their research on this website.
Click Here.

Contact Us

Matters relating to membership (personal details, renewals, applications, gift aid and standing orders).
Membership Secretary - David J Skyrme. Cherry Gate, Tubbs Lane, Highclere, NEWBURY, RG20 9PR
Email - membership@dyfedfhs.org.uk

Matters relating to the Management Committee.
General Secretary
- Mr. Colin Potter. 25 Milton Meadows, Milton, Tenby, Pembrokeshire. SA70 8PL
Email - secretary@dyfedfhs.org.uk

Matters relating to the journal (articles, help needed or advertising).
Editor – Cate Hobbs. 25 Milton Meadows, Milton, Tenby, Pembrokeshire. SA70 8PL
Email - editor@dyfedfhs.org.uk

Matters relating to the website.
Webmaster - Mr. Gareth Morgan.
Email - webmaster@dyfedfhs.org.uk

Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2024 Dyfed Family History Society. All Rights Reserved. Website by Delwedd

Dyfed Family History Society is a Registered Charity, No. 513347